Daddy

Today is my dad’s birthday. Oh how I love this man, just like every daddy’s girl should. I admire him in so many ways. He is the most charitable, hard-working, and selfless person I have ever met. He loves his family, and always knows how to show us.

When I was a little girl my dad would come and take me out to lunch each year on my birthday. Sometimes, he would just come to school so he could go through the ‘hot lunch’ line and eat with me in the cafeteria. He would always stay after lunch so we could play on the play ground until the bell rang for class. Every kid in my grade, and usually the grade above and below me, wanted to be my friend on those days. They crowded him on the cafeteria bench and surrounded him on the playground. I had the coolest dad in the world, and I was so proud to show him off.

Honestly, there are a million and one reasons why I adore being my father’s daughter. Here is a short list:

1. He ALWAYS makes me laugh. He has such a great sense of humor and always exudes a love for life. He is famous for his stories, but the best part is the animated way he tells them.

2. For as long as I can remember he has been the victor in the following games/competitions: bump-out, hand stand competitions, family ping pong tournaments (yes we make brackets each Christmas), pillow fights, wrestling matches, long prayers, falling asleep the fastest when watching movies or reading books, racing Mom home after church on Sundays (if we had to take 2 cars), eating the leftovers from other family member’s dinner plates, and spinning a basketball on one finger.

3. Always a kid at heart, my dad knows how to inspire and encourage childhood creativity and adventure. From bike rides, camping, and sports at the park, to pine-wood durbies, making home-made cards, late-night games of sardines, and reading stories before bed, he truly taught us the joys of being a kid.

4. He knows how to make the most of any situation. We never had much luck with cars, and it just wasn’t a family trip without breaking down somewhere. Instead of grumbling and getting angry while we sat and waited along hot deseret roads, he would find old metal cans and glass jars along the side of the road, set them up old fences, and we would throw rocks and try to knock them over. If we were pulling the camper, we would put out the shade awning and just sit there, playing and laughing until the tow-truck came. (I think secretly my dad loved these moments most of all.)

5. He gets choked up when tells me over the phone how much he loves me and misses me.

In short, he is a wonderful father, and an amazing man. Happy birthday, Dad! I love you.

This entry was posted in Family & Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daddy

  1. kimmysun says:

    Camellia, this is such a sweet blog! I love it and am thankful for your amazing father too!

  2. Lester says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. He really is a great man, to whom we owe so much. We all have a little of Dad’s personality in us. Though he is not a man of great stature, he makes up in character, and spiritual might. I have to say that the most spiritual experiences of my childhood were always in the company of my father. His spirit and optimism is contagious. No matter the desire to be angry, he could always prod a smile out of us. No matter the circumstances, he could turn it into a game. No matter the sorrow, he could always console us. He has always been the inspiration for me to want to be better, to be someone that could bear his name, though I have many times failed to bear it with honor. I truly love that man and hope to one day continue his legacy as a father. I would not mind in the least to become the man that has been my example throughout my life. We have all been so greatly blessed to have him as our earthly father.

  3. Erin Psillos says:

    I love your Dad too!! This post reminded me a lot of my Dad’s characteristics too, and the fact that they look so much alike! We have great men in our family!!

Leave a Reply

