Modern Utah- Part 3

My search for modern furniture is progressing nicely. I added a couple more stores to my list, and I’m excited to pay them a visit. Part 1 and Part 2 of the project were enjoyable finds – places I would definitely shop if my pocketbook were loaded.

San Francisco Design– 2970 Highland Drive, SLC

Oddly enough the first thing I noticed when I walked in the door of San Francisco Design was the smell. It smelled like cheap leather and new furnishings, a lot of them. (Almost like that new car smell, but for furniture.) The store was brimming with products. Every space contained a chair, a table, a couch, some of them harder to get to than others. If you like a large, almost overwhelming selection, this is the place for you!

The store primarily boasts of a contemporary style, which is quite good. Like Lofgren’s, they also carried several replicas of mid-century modern pieces, though many seemed cheaply made and not very reasonably priced.

Brno Chair

Mies van der Rohe- Barcelona Chair

Philippe Starck- Louis Ghost Chair (Not mid-century, but I still love them!)

Le Corbusier- Le Petit Confort Chair

Cleo Arc Lamp

The most abundantly placed piece throughout the store was the Eileen Gray Accent Table. One of her most recognizable pieces, the little table went well with everything from a blue retro Odyssey Sofa to a Le Corbusier Chaise Lounge.

Overall, San Francisco Design was well worth the visit. I’m not sure how I feel about the cheap, mass-production feel of some pieces, but there are definitely several great finds. I was especially thrilled to see the Philippe Starck chairs. Starck is doing some really fun things with design, heading up the New Design Style. But that is a post for another day.

This entry was posted in Design, Mid-Century Modern, Modern Utah. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modern Utah- Part 3

  1. Pingback: Philippe Starck | Stray Streets

Leave a Reply

