A Farmland Horizon

I mentioned a few weeks ago that we recently took a trip to Idaho. I was so blown away by the beautiful farmland. As we drove home I just stared out the window at the landscape. From my angle, the horizontal lines and colors seemed to layer on top of themselves, stacking upwards toward the blue sky.

You may think these images all the look the same, but let your eye focus on the color blocks that move across the horizon of the photo, starting with the gray of the road and the white of the painted line. Then you move to tans, yellows, greens, whites, browns, the occasional elevated watering system, faint telephone lines, and then the sky. Every line moving from left to right. It was really captivating to me, as evidenced by a whole slew of iphone photos from the moving car. I just might try to replicate the pattern in a kind of modern, color-block art project.

This entry was posted in Art, Everything Else, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Farmland Horizon

  1. Brittany says:

    I just might do some modern paintings myself! Love these! I did a series of paintings of Philly and this reminds me of them with all the wheat fields. 🙂 p.s. I read your blog all the time camellia and I love it. 🙂

    • camellia says:

      If you do a series I definitely want to see! I’m no artist, so I’m sure my attempts won’t turn out what I hope. Thanks for the sweet compliment and thanks for reading, Brittany. This has been a really fun space to maintain.

Leave a Reply

