Quinoa & Kale

I’ve been looking for a good kale recipe lately. I’ve also been on a quinoa kick, so I was thrilled to find this recipe with both quinoa and kale.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, but changed a few things. Instead of walnut oil I used cold-pressed olive oil. I also left out the pine nuts because Brent’s not really a fan. I loved the outcome, but I thought the unripened goat cheese from Chevrai was a little strong. I would probably try a Manchego next time for a slightly more subtle taste.

It was pretty delicious, and I’m happy to have a new recipe to help put all the kale in my fridge to use. It’s so good for you, and if you can cook it up just right it’s so tasty too. I served it with a lemon garlic chicken breast. Enjoy!

(Serves 2-4)

2 cups salted water
1 cup quinoa
1 bunch kale, washed and chopped
1 lemon, squeezed
2 1/2 green onions, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese

Bring water to a boil, add quinoa, cover and cook for 10 minutes on a simmer. Add fresh kale to the top of the pot and re-cover, let the rest of the boiling water steam the kale. Simmer for 5 minutes, then turn off the heat and let it steam for 5 more minutes.

While the quinoa and kale are cooking combine all other ingredients in a bowl. (Save half the lemon juice for the end.) Fluff in quinoa and kale when they’re finished cooking, squeeze in the remaining lemon juice, add salt and pepper as needed. Voila! Bon appetite.

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quinoa & Kale

  1. Amrita says:

    Don’t know about quinoa…[I belong to that category of people who pushes away rice pudding and cooked oats, so you can go ahead an roll your eyes really]…but yes, yes YES all the way to kale!

  2. Amie Tingey says:

    Looks yummy! Im going to make it!

Leave a Reply

