Summer Salad

I think I’ve found my new favorite summer salad. There’s no surprise it calls for quinoa – my absolute favorite grain. I made this for a BBQ over the weekend, and it was a huge hit. I based it primarily off this recipe here, but I doubled everything and changed a couple things. Basically, just cook the quinoa and then combine it with the salad ingredients and dressing in one big bowl. Chill it for 10 to 15 minutes in the fridge, then dig in and enjoy!

For the Salad:
1/2 C. cooked quinoa (I evenly mixed red and white)
1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
1 c. cherry tomatoes, quartered
2 avocados, diced
2 C. spinach, finely chopped
1 bunch cilantro, finely chopped
1/4 C. onion, chopped
2 small cloves garlic, diced

For the dressing:
juice of 2 lemons
zest of 1 lemon
2 tsp. dijon mustard
2 tsp. olive oil
1 tsp. agave nectar
1/2 tsp. cumin chopped finely
dash of salt and pepper

This entry was posted in Food, Gluten-free. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Summer Salad

  1. Pingback: For the Love of Salad « mcfarlane's musings

Leave a comment